The Poppy War por R. F. Kuang

The Poppy War por R. F. Kuang
Titulo del libro : The Poppy War
Autor : R. F. Kuang

Obtenga el libro de The Poppy War de R. F. Kuang en formato PDF o EPUB. Puedes leer cualquier libro en línea o guardarlo en tus dispositivos. Cualquier libro está disponible para descargar sin necesidad de gastar dinero.

R. F. Kuang con The Poppy War

Críticas ""A blistering, powerful epic of war and revenge that will captivate you to the bitter end.""--Kameron Hurley, author of The Stars are Legion""A thrilling, action-packed fantasy of gods and mythology...The ambitious heroine's rise from poverty to ruthless military commander makes for a gripping read, and I eagerly await the next installment.""--Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns""In The Poppy War, RF Kuang draws on history and myth to tell a relentlessly unforgiving story of war, vengeance, power and madness, with larger-than-life characters that evoke sympathy and rouse terror. Brace yourself.""--Fonda Lee, award-winning author of The Green Bone Saga""Debut novelist Kuang creates an ambitious fantasy reimagining of Asian history populated by martial artists, philosopher-generals, and gods [...] This is a strong and dramatic launch to Kuang's career.""--Publishers Weekly""The narrative is an impactful, impressive symphony of words that grant life to this incredible morality tale. Setting the stage for an epic fantasy is an understandably enormous undertaking, but Kuang does an exceptional job of world and character building.""--RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!)This Summer's Hottest New Books For Every Type of Reader--Popsugar""A young woman's determination and drive to succeed and excel at any cost runs into the horrors of war, conflict and ancient, suppressed forces in R. F. Kuang's excellent debut novel, The Poppy War.""--The Skiffy and Fanty Show""An original and engrossing tale of the coming of age of a talented young soldier amid the horrors of invasion and genocide.""--Anna Stephens, author of Godblind""[THE POPPY WAR] feels entirely immersive and rich in a way that kind of sucks you in [...] It's a treasure trove.""--Utopia State of Mind""A powerful, emotional journey, compellingly written.""--Adrian Tchaikovsky, award-winning author of The Children of Time Reseña del editor “I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang’s] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin.” -- BooknestA Library Journal, Paste Magazine, Vulture, BookBub, and ENTROPY Best Books of 2018 pick!Washington Post ""5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel of 2018"" pick!A Bustle ""30 Best Fiction Books of 2018"" pick!A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.But surprises aren’t always good.Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late. Ver Descripción del producto